START Treaty

During the course of the Ignite Presentations, I was surprised to find out how informed that I could be on many topics while only listening to a 5 minute presentation. Even though our time was limited, using this method of presenting forced students to not waste time and get to the important parts of our presentation. In regards to creating my own presentation, it was hard to confine my information down to a 5 minute presentation, since there was still a lot of information that I would have like to have talked about. In my presentation, I tried and discuss all of the most important parts of my topic, but due to the time limitation, I was unable to talk about a few topics. For instance, I wish I had gone into more detail about the SDI, Strategic Defense Initiative, and what the impact of creating an SDI could have had on nuclear defense. The Strategic Defense Initiative was a proposed defense system that would protect the United States against nuclear missiles. The SDI would have had ground based lasers and lasers stationed in space to provide safety to the United States from future attacks. President Ronald Reagan had proposed this idea to the General Secretary of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union Mikhail Gorbachev at their summit in Reykjavik, Iceland, but Gorbachev wanted to stall the initiation of the SDI to 10 years in hope that Reagan wouldn’t implement it. This could have been a huge step for the United States in their defense against nuclear weapons, but was never developed.

Gorbachev and Reagan’s summit in Reykjavik was an important landmark in our relationship with Russia.  Although nothing was exactly accomplished at the summit, the two leaders still had a long discussion about reducing the nuclear arsenals of each country, the proposal of an SDI, and discussions about eliminating all nuclear weapons in order to have peace.

Something else that I would have liked to talk about if I had more time would be to discuss the New START treaty signed by President Barack Obama and Russian President Dmitry Medvedev in 2008, or the SALT treaties, otherwise known as the Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty, and other START treaties that have been signed in the past. All of these treaties are important in our growing relationship Russia, and is also important to promoting world peace. The first START treaty was signed after the Cold War, and this treaty completely changed our relationship with the Soviet Union. If I had more time I would have gone into more detail about these treaties, but I thought that this style of presenting was efficient and led to more succinct presentations.

Leave a Reply

